Days until the start of the 100th Race
We are racing!

Straits of Mackinac Society
Race Committee Person of the Year
Old Fort Trophy

The Straits of Mackinac Society created an award in 1992 to be presented to the
Bayview Mackinac Race Committee Person of the Year. They will be awarded
Selection of the Committee Person of the Year is made by the Mackinac Race
Chair and Assistant Race Chairs.

The criteria used to select the Race Committee Person of the Year should take
into consideration; outstanding performance by an individual in any one year or
outstanding performance over a several year period.

The Race Committee Person of the Year is recognized at the Annual Race
Committee Party in June and their name is added to the Old Forts Trophy in the
Regatta Room at Bayview Yacht Club.

Old Fort Trophy Recipients

Last Name Year Inducted
William A. Wiard "Top Hat" 1992
Patricia Carollo 1993
Calvin H. Hughes 1994
J.E. Mike Tapert 1995
Patricia A. Smith 1996
Dean M. Koppin 1997
Dee Otenbaker 1998
Com. Lynn G. Stedman, Jr. 1999
Charles J. Reader, Jr. 2000
Com. Peter R. Griffin 2001
Marcia Everingham 2002
Timothy H. Rumptz 2003
Gerald A. Smigelski 2004
Mary Brieden 2005
Robert C. Sheridan 2006
Richard H. Bridge 2007
Com. Peter R. Griffin 2008
Com. Bob Niederoest 2009
Ann Lawson 2010
Charles J. Reader, Jr. 2011
Dee Otenbaker 2013
Alan Minsterman 2014
Patti Kommel 2015
Megan Farrell 2016
Art LeVasseur 2017
Gordy Smith 2018
Gary Viola 2019
Jim Motschall 2020
Susan Jasin 2021
Jeff Maier 2022